Task Force Overview

Chaired by Chief Diversity Officer Dr. Sylvia Carey-Butler, the Presidential Task Force on Race is comprised of a diverse group of 21 students, faculty, staff, and alumni. The full list of Task Force members can be found in Appendix A. The Task Force organized the following subcommittees to focus on five specific themes pertaining to the university: Curriculum, Faculty, Policies and Procedures, Staff, and Students. The full list of Task Force subcommittee members can be found in Appendix B. Each subcommittee was charged with developing a set of recommendations pertaining to its given theme. Of note, recommendations submitted by the Subcommittee on Policies and Procedures landed within the specific themes of the other subcommittees. For this reason, Policies and Procedures recommendations are listed amongst recommendations submitted by those other subcommittees. Members of the larger Presidential Task Force on Race met twice a month to discuss the committee’s charge and receive updates from each of the subcommittees. Members of the five subcommittees met on a weekly basis. Meetings took place throughout Summer and Fall 2020. 

In an effort to collect vast information and data regarding the experiences of underrepresented students, faculty, and staff at KSU, the Task Force conducted 25 listening sessions from August through October 2020. These sessions were inclusive of student affinity groups and were attended by students, faculty, and staff including representatives from the Department of Career Planning and Development, the Division of Student Affairs, Facility Services, Faculty Senate, the KSU Black Alumni Society, the Office of Alumni Relations, the President’s Cabinet, and University Dining. The Task Force analyzed the feedback from these sessions to inform the recommendations within this report. Campus stakeholders not included amongst the focus group participants were also provided with the opportunity to submit concerns or recommendations via the Office of Diversity and Inclusion website. Task Force members reviewed primary and secondary resources and documents that were provided by the Commission on Racial and Ethnic Diversity (C.O.R.E.D), Faculty Senate, KSUnited, the Office of Diversity and Inclusion, the Office of Institutional Research, and Registered Student Organizations (RSOs).